RSS Feed

Day 8

20120108-074225.jpg

Just before I Left Hong Kong, I was in a new suburban shopping centre and wandered into the Esprit store advertising 40 – 70% off – more super sales! I thought this little 100% cotton dress with cotton lining in charcoal would be great for job interviews and easy and light to carry everywhere in my backpack while I was still unsure where I would end up. Anyway, as you can see, it’s a little short for interviews but appropriately demure for mass!

At the time, going to mass regularly was particularly important because I was about to become a Godmother in New York ah hem let me say that again in the right voice (in the voice of Robert De Niro “A Godmother in New York” – better?). You get the picture – proof that I was a regular mass-goer, copies of all my ceremonies etc along with a reference from my current parish priest required. Needless to say, lots of early mornings at the cathedral required and my friends very kindly offered to meet me for breakfast after mass each Sunday. Well, the Sunday Breakfast Club became something of an institution and the beginning of some very dear friendships. One in particular was solidified the day I wore this dress. I showed up at the cafe, still glowing, fresh from the pew and my friend Tim (now it’s very important to do a gorgeous British accent with a dose of glee) hugged me and said “Oh darling, you dress for church. How lovely, I didn’t realise anyone did anymore!” I didn’t have the heart to tell him that in Bris-Vegas we rock up to mass fresh from the pool, hair still dripping, in shorts and thongs!

My mass dress pulled through today with an early service with my dear great aunt followed by a 6-hour stint of tidying the Radio Lollipop studio and, having forgotten to pack shorts and a t-shirt, kept me cool and comfy! Thanks super sales at Esprit šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

